I Heart Flag Day

Today is Flag Day in the U.S. Flag Day commemorates the adoption of the U.S. Flag on June 14 way back in 1777.

I love flags. There are millions of them. Everything has a flag. The world has a flag. Countries have them;  as do states, provinces, counties, cities, islands, organizations, groups, the Military… The list goes on and on.

My favorite flag for a country is the U.S. Flag. I have to say that because I don’t want to be kicked out of the country for being a political dissident, or be labeled a traitor.

us flag

In addition to the U.S. Flag, there are other flags that I like. I like them for various reasons.

Seychelles
I like the flag of Seychelles. It looks like Wonder Woman should be standing in front of it.
seychelles flag

Jolly Roger
I like the Jolly Roger flag because it has a skull and crossbones on it. What’s not to like about that?

jolly roger

Arizona
I like the Arizona flag because it also looks like Wonder Woman should be standing in front of it.

arizona flag

Kenya
I like the flag of Kenya. It has a shield and some spears on it. The black symbolizes black majority. The red is symbolic of the bloodshed in the fight for freedom. The green symbolizes the land. The white is a fimbriation. Fimbriation refers to small stripes of color placed around common charges or ordinaries, usually in order for them to stand out from the background.

kenya flag

Bear Community Flag
The bears are a faction of the gay community. I like it because of the colors. Also, I like stripes.

bear flag

Cherokee Nation Flag
This is the flag of the Cherokee Nation. . The seven pointed stars represent the seven clans of the Cherokee, as well as other symbolisms of the number seven in Cherokee tradition. In 1989 an additional star was added to the upper right hand corner of the flag. It is black, and represents the light that went out with the deaths of those who perished on the Trail of Tears.

cherokee flag

Flag of Mars
This is the flag of Mars. It is not official in a legal sense. The Outer Space Treaty forbids the appropriation of celestial bodies by any means. It’s designed to portray the ‘future history’ of Mars. The red symbolizes Mars as it is today. The green and blue symbolize stages in the possible terraforming of Mars should humanity ever have the will and the ability to undertake such a task (personally, I don’t see that happening).

flag of mars

Earth Day Flag
This is the Earth Day Flag. I like it because it has Earth on it.

earth day flag

…and, of course, I like the American Flag.

superman flag

loves flags

Leave a Reply

