Dear Diary: Color me Teal

It’s Friday.

According to itunes I have listened to Don’t You (Forget About Me) by Simple Minds 1333 times. That’s just ridiculous. There are other songs in the world.

It’s supposed to be really hot in certain parts of the country today. It’s supposed to be 119 in Phoenix and 127 in Death Valley. I’m glad I don’t live there. Yesterday it got up to 100 here. With the humidity/heat index is was 107. It’s only June people and Summer just started.

Last night the electricity went out for a little bit. Oh hell no bitches. It would be so awful if it was out for 4 days like it was back in December. About 1/10 of the state lost power on Christmas Day in 2012. It was cold. But, I can handle the cold a whole lot better than I can handle the heat.

The whole heat thing reminds me of that episode of The Twilight Zone. That one with Lois Nettleton. It was called The Midnight Sun. It’s one of my favorite episodes. It might actually BE my favorite episode.

Lately I’ve been thinking about how much I want to go back to D.C. I’ve only been there once. It was my birthday present to myself 4 years ago. It was fabulous. I spent most of my time in the art museums. I wasn’t real hip on the Air and Space Museum. It was okay, but there were just so many people there.
My favorite place was the Smithsonian American Art Museum. I was like, “I want to live here”.

Reynolds Center Architecture

Electronic Superhighway: Continental U.S., Alaska, Hawaii by Nam June Paik was my favorite.

When I was it in person for the first time I almost had an orgasm. Art does that to me. Paintings, sculpture, architecture and design. Sometimes I’m a big crybaby about it.

Friends: Why are you crying?
Me: It’s a MONET you uncultured hayseed!

In one of the museums I got in trouble by a security guard because I touched a van Gogh painting. I don’t care. He is now forever in my soul.

I wish that I was a talented artist, but I’m not. Sure I can through a bunch of paint on a canvas and go, “Look, I did a Jackson Pollock”, or, “Look, I did a Mondrian”, but I sure don’t have the natural talent for verisimilitude. I envy people that do. Of course, if I did have that natural ability, then I probably wouldn’t have any interest in it. It’s funny how that works.

My favorite color is #008080. That’s the hex color number. The actual color name is teal.

teal

I don’t know why I like it so much. Maybe it’s because it reminds me of the ocean or because it was a popular mid-century color.

This is what is looks like in text.

I love changing font colors. I don’t know why I don’t do it more often.

Oh yeah, because it takes so much damn time.

Leave a Reply

