Dear Diary: Happy Birthday Erle Stanley Gardner and Phoebe Snow

Today is Erle Stanley Gardner’s birthday. He was born in 1889 and died in 1970. I love Erle. He created Perry Mason. Perry is my favorite fictional character of all time.

It’s also Phoebe Snow’s birthday. She was born in 1950. Poor homegirl died in 2011. I love Phoebe. Mainly because of Poetry Man. What a fabulous song. When I first heard it I hated it. Couldn’t stand it. But then one day I was like, “You know what, I really like that song”. And then later, “Wow, I really LOVE that song”. It seems like most of the songs that I absolutely hated when I first heard them end up being my favorite songs of all time. Funny how that happens. There’s got to be a name for that. I don’t know what it is though.

Other songs I hated in the beginning but later became my favorites.
Loving You by Minnie Riperton
Maggie May by Rod Stewart
Midnight at the Oasis by Maria Muldaur

There are others, but those are the ones that I hated the most before I started loving them.

It’s also Nicolette Larson’s birthday. She died in ’97 at the age of 45. She had a hit with Lotta Love.

I like it all right. I especially like the saxophone, flute and strings. I wouldn’t say it’s one of my absolute favorites though.

It’s also P.J. Soles birthday.
Well who in the hell is that?
She played Lynda in the Halloween movie. You know, the one with Jamie Lee Curtis. Only one of the best horror movies of all time. Anyway, she was the girl who got strangled with the telephone cord. Too bad they didn’t have cell phones back then. She’d probably still be alive. Lynda that is. P.J. is still around. She turns 63 today. EGADS!

Another celebrity birthday is…

DRUMROLL PLEASE!

David Hasselhoff!

David, David, David. Why on earth did you have to leave America’s Got Talent? Probably because you figured out that they don’t. Have talent, that is. It’s not like I’m a big fan or anything. I mean you all right. But dude, they replaced you with Howie Mandell. Could there possibly be anybody more annoying? Not to mention that fact that y’all are complete opposites. You eat hamburgers off of the floor and he’s afraid of germs.

And let’s not forget Phyllis Diller and Vince Guaraldi. Poor Phyllis. Died last year.
Who’s Vince Guaraldi? HELLO! He was a jazz musician. He wrote the music for the Peanuts cartoons. He was only 47 when he died.

There are other birthdays, but these are the most relevant to me.

In non-birthday news:

Last night I watched that new show Hollywood Game Night. It was entertaining. The host is Jane Lynch. She’s okay. There are 2 contestants and 6 celebrities that play the game. The problem with 6 celebrities is that there is always going to be one of them that you can’t stand or that gets on your nerves. Last night it was Martin Short. Aargh. He’s not as prance around neurotic as Robin Williams, but he’s close. Dude, learn how to focus. You wear me out.

Next week the irritating celebrity is Rob Riggle. ick.

Big Brother is on tonight. More childish drama in a faux-house full of idiots and crybabies. oh boy.

I go into work at 1:30. No bitches, please.

Leave a Reply

