John McDonald had a Birthday-EIEIOmg I love him

So, I checked out the ‘famous’ birthdays for today in wikipedia. July 24. I already knew that it was Jennifer Lopez’s birthday. For some odd reason I remember that it is 2 days before mine. I check them from time to time. Mainly as an excuse to write or talk about someone that I like. Some days are boring. Nobody good. Well, maybe a few. And other days; tons of fabulous people. Today is kind of ‘eh’.

It’s a systematic way to learn about people. Not as random. You come across people that you may not have otherwise even thought about. I’ll be like, “Oh hey, there’s so and so. I like them. Let me read more about them”. And then I’ve learn a little something about that person. Something that might spice up a conversation that I am having, or make me appear to be a tad bit smarter when I am able to answer a question about them on Jeopardy or some other quiz show.

So, who are some of the famous people who were born on this date?

Alexandre Dumas
This is the Alexander Dumas also known as Alexandre Dumas, père. He is the French writer who wrote The Count of Monte Cristo and The Three Musketeers.
There is another Alexander Dumas. He is Alexandre Dumas, fils. He is the illegitimate son of the père Dumas. He is the one who wrote Camille. It’s the tragic story of that chick who died from consumption. Also known as tuberculosis. In the novel it’s called ‘phthisie’. I’ve seen reference made to it in several movies and tv shows. It’s usually when a character is being a slight hypochondriac and over-exaggerating an illness or situation. It was later turned into a play. And then here comes Giuseppe Verdi, who sets it to music. It became the opera known as La Traviata, which translates to ‘The Strayed Woman’.
Anyway, today is the Dumas père‘s birthday. Camille-writing Dumas fils’ birthday is in three days on the 27th.

mucha 2Alphonse Mucha
Mucha is a Czech art nouveau painter and decorative artist. He was born in 1860 and died in 1939. I like his stuff. I like art nouveau.

mucha 1

The Devoted Wallflower

His most famous masterpiece is The Slav Epic, a series of twenty huge paintings depicting the history of the Czech and Slavic people.

Robert Graves
He wrote the historical novel I, Claudius. I, Claudius is a novel written in the form of an autobiography of the Roman Emperor Claudius. It has been ranked in numerous Top 100 English Language novels lists. I’ve never read it. I just know who wrote it.

Amelia Earhart
I think everybody knows who she is. Well almost everybody. That one kid who asked my if Jimi Hendrix was the lead singer for Led Zeppelin probably doesn’t know. I was like, “Ugh, what kind of musical sacrilege of a question are you even asking me”?

Zelda Fitzgerald
F. Scott’s wacky wife. Most feminists would probably disagree. That’s cool. She was dubbed by her husband as the First American Flapper. She was also a writer. She was born in 1900 and died at the age of 47.

john d

My picture has to be bigger because I am more super-fabulous than  the rest of those bozos born on this date.

John D. McDonald
Ooooo girlfriend, he’s one of my favorite writers. He wrote the Travis McGee series. Travis McGee books always had a color in the title. I always thought that was cool. He also wrote The Executioners, which was later adapted into the film Cape Fear. Twice. The first Cape Fear starred Robert Mitchum. I love Mitchum. I’ve always thought that under different circumstances; adjustments in sexual orientation, and some sort of bizarre time shift making us contemporaries born no more that 5 years apart, he would have been my boyfriend. Not in the cosmic cards.
The first Cape Fear also starred Gregory Peck. He played Atticus Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird. He won the Best Actor Oscar for that role. I once had an optometrist named Gregory Peck. No relation. Just coincidence.

For about a decade or so, McDonald specialized in crime thrillers. Quite a few are considered classics of the hard-boiled genre. Most hard-boiled protagonists were detectives. Cynical detectives. Antiheroes blurring the lines between good and bad.
They were around violence all of the time. They became burned-out and cynical. They talked tough. They were sarcastic. I suppose I would be too if I was around that junk all of the time.

I always thought that I would make a good detective. I don’t mind dead bodies or blood. I just need to develop more machismo, loose the fear of guns, and develop a higher pain threshhold for when I get beat up in an alley somewhere.

McDonald died in 1986 at the age of 70 from complications due to an earlier heart bypass operation.

He is buried in Milwaukee at Holy Cross Cemetery and Mausoleum. I shall go there one day. Or not.

Ruth Buzzi
She fabulous and funny and I love her. One time she sent me a personalized autographed picture.

don west

That Dr. Smith is fucking shit up again!

Mark Goddard
Well who is that? Duh. Major Don West on Lost in Space. He was born on the exact same day as the above-mentioned Ruth Buzzi. 1936. That means that they both turn 77 today. Neither of their ages has been changed to 77 on their wikipedia pages yet. I guess the people who contribute or provide info to their pages are doing something else. If I was famous enough to have my own wikipedia page, I would be changing that shit MYSELF at one minute after midnight.

Lynda Carter
TVs Wonder Woman. Okay, here’s something that I didn’t know. She was Miss World USA in 1972. I had no idea that there was such a thing as the Miss World USA Pageant. So I guess that’s why I didn’t know that she had won it. Anyway, now I do.

Okay, so there are more. But you know what? I’m kinda over talking about people and their stupid birthdays.

Leave a Reply

