Dear Diary: It’s my birthday. 56 is the new…I don’t know what

Well, it’s here. My birthday. 56. I have nothing big planned. Still being here is plan enough.

I suppose that I could have had a Sweet 16 + 40 party. That might have been fun. Or not.

I was born on a Friday and today is Friday. According to that Monday’s Child fortune-telling nursery rhyme song, Friday’s Child is ‘loving and giving’. I suppose that could be true. On some days anyway. I really feel sorry for those Wednesday’s Child people. They are full of woe. Nice way to set someone up for success.

It’s also Hart Hanson’s birthday. Same day and year. He is the creator of the Bones tv show. It’s like we’re twins. Only he’s a famous television producer and I’m not.

mick

ugh. Another birthday.

And let’s not forget Mick Jagger. He turns 70 today. That’s really impressive. To go through all of that rock star stuff and still be here and performing.

Let’s not forget Dorothy Hamill. She turns 57 today. She won the Olympic Gold in figure skating in 1976. Tomorrow is Peggy Fleming’s birthday. She won the gold medal in 1968. Hmmm…that’s weird. I think I’ll go check out the birthday’s of the other U.S. female gold winners in figure skating.

…a few minutes later.

Tenley Albright, the ’56 champion. Born July 18. Another winner born in July.
Kristi Yamaguchi, the ’92 champion. Born July 12. Yet another winner born in July. Strange!

Oh wait. Carol Heiss, Tara Lipinski and Sarah Hughes screwed it up. Tara is June 10. Well, that’s kinda close. Carol Heiss, the ’60 winner is Jan. 20. Sarah Hughes, the 2002 winner is May 2.

Oh well, there goes that theory.

Let’s see. Who else was born today.

George Clinton, the 4th vice president of the U.S. Well, if I can’t have a presidential birthday, then I guess a vice president will have to do. Although, sharing a birthday with Funkadelic George Clinton would have been much cooler.

George Bernard Shaw. That’s cool. Nobel Prize laureate.

Carl Jung. A Swiss psychiatrist.

George Grosz. German Painter. I love Grosz. His stuff is cool.

Aldous Huxley. The guy who wrote Brave New World. He died on Nov. 22, 1963. The exact same day as JFK. I’m pretty sure that it wasn’t by a stray bullet though. C.S. Lewis also died on that day too. Of course, their deaths were kind of overlooked.

Vivian Vance. AKA Ethel Mertz

Blake Edwards and Jason Robards. Both born in 1922. One a director and the other an actor.

Stanley Kubrick. Another director.

Joe Jackson. Father of Michael and the rest of the Jackson clan.

Dobie Gray and Mary Jo Kopechne. Both born in 1940. Dobie was a singer/songwriter. He did that song Drift Away. It was a big hit in ’73. Mary Jo was that girl who died in Ted Kennedy’s car at Chappaquiddick.

Bobby Hebb, Darlene Love and Brenton Wood. All born in 1941. All famous American singers.

Helen Mirren (1945) and Sandra Bullock (1964). Both academy award-winning actresses. At one time, they were both up for the award at the same time. Interesting.

Kevin Spacey. He’s cool.

There are more, but yeah, I’m over listing them.

As far as events go, Carlos Castillo Armas, dictator of Guatemala, was assassinated on the day I was born.

Things sure that changed a lot since the day I was born. They have color tv now. How remarkable. Who’da thought. The Viet Nam war is over. Eisenhower isn’t president anymore (how time flies). We went to the moon like 6 times (allegedly). We played golf on the moon (allegedly). There was a thing called Women’s Lib. Ladies marched and burned their bras. There was the Civil Rights movement. There was disco (I turned 21 at the height of the disco era. That was fun).
slinkyThere was the slinky (which I could never get to go down the stairs like in the commercials), Silly Putty (that got me grounded because I was always ripping the newspaper when I was trying to copy the comics on it) and the Rubik’s Cube (which I could never solve).
There were assassinations. JFK. RFK. MLK.
There was the thing called Y2K. That was a weird time.
Oh no, all of the computers are going to shut down and there will be chaos. We should stock up on water and guns.
Oh wait, we fixed it. Never mind.
There was 9/11. It was a Tuesday. I was in Blimpy’s Sandwich shop when I found out. I immediately ran home and started recording all of the news coverage on vcr tapes. I later recorded over them with Magnum pi episodes. So much for preserving history.

6 thoughts on “Dear Diary: It’s my birthday. 56 is the new…I don’t know what

  1. Happy Birthday! Around that age, I began switching my numbers around (only if it worked in my favor, of course). Sorry, 56 doesn’t quite work as 65 unless you don’t mind the increase! I’m at (0)6, which definitely works in my favor!

Leave a Reply

